Nominations Announced – 2012 Victory Stakes

April 23rd, 2012

Nominations have been released for the 2012 Victory Stakes, which is due to run at Eagle Farm Racecourse this Saturday April 28, 2012.

Just seven horses have nominated for the 2012 Victory Stakes, including Robert Heathcote’s Buffering.

Buffering will be first up in the 2012 Victory Stakes after having a short rest following his autumn carnival in Melbourne.

The four-year-old gelding placed in all of his three Victorian starts, with his best result being in the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap where he finished second by a nostril to Hay List in the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap.

Buffering has won eight of his 23 race starts and has earned more than $1.24 million in prize money.

The Mossman gelding won last year’s edition of the Victory Stakes and will be looking to post back to back titles this weekend.

Buffering will be ridden by jockey Jim Byrne in the 2012 Victory Stakes, however, Heathcote is chasing Nash Rawiller to ride the horse in his upcoming Group 1 BTC Cup run.

“Jim (Byrne) is booked to ride Buffering in the Victory Stakes with Damian riding in Adelaide,” Heathcote said.

“But Jim’s booking is only for the Victory Stakes and we’ve approached Nash to ride him in the BTC Cup as Damian (Browne) is likely to be away that day as well.

“There’s no doubting Nash is the best rider in the country.”

Heathcote is confident of Buffering’s 2012 Victory Stakes chances.

“I couldn’t be happier with the way he’s going,” he said.

“He’s going super and hopefully he can defend his title he claimed by winning last year’s Victory Stakes.”

How would you like to receive the best on the 2012 Victory Stakes?

Well you can get this and much more when you sign up to top online bookie today. is your one stop shop for all your betting needs for the Winter Racing Carnival.

Enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join today and you will be rewarded with a bonus bet valued at up to $300 to use on any race you choose.

So what are you waiting for? Sign up today and start making the most of your race days with!

2012 Victory Stakes Nominations

No. Horse Trainer
1 ADEBISI Desleigh Forster
2 BOYS ON TOUR John P Thompson
3 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote
4 POTIONS John P Thompson
5 SCENIC BLAST Daniel Morton
6 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan
7 TOP DROP Gerald Ryan